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Isle of Light and Shadow FAQ : 

(Source Phoenix Interactive old CCG Blog). 

 
Daybreak and Nightfall : 

 

Starting Armies are revealed during Nightfall - it is not yet the first turn. 

Keep in mind the ruling that actions may not be performed before the first turn begins, which 

prevents Nightfall Reacts from being triggered after starting armies are revealed. 

 

Regardless of where in wording of the Daybreak ability the "if it is the first turn" text is, such 

abilities have no effect and/or cannot be used when it is not the first turn.  

The same holds true for Nightfall. 

 

 

Characters : 
 

Deverenians 

 

Sir Kolden Aedroud: 

He benefits from both of his own effects. 

His granted React is used by the Illusionist to redirect the strike from themselves to an 

adjacent character. That is, 'this character' becomes self-referential to the Illusionist. 

 

Lord Tuathal 

His Daybreak text allows him to "Perform a +0 ranged strike." 

 

Madriga: 

Her NightFall Order cannot be performed if there is no other Deverenian to gain the HP. (Zero 

Effect Rule) 

 

Prioress Sophique: 

Her Daybreak React will affect characters that enter the front rank later in the turn. 

Her Nightfall React counts as retrieval from the deck, and does not have to be revealed to 

other players. Shuffle the deck before placing the card on top. 

 

Bishop Ambros: 

The bonuses include the character discarded for the cost. 

 

Acolyte Chaston 

 

Sir Francis DeGraves: 

His Daybreak Order can only be used to ready a Steed that is equipped to him. 

 

Theodore D’Ilchant: 

His Daybreak ability counts as draw and retrieval from the deck. You must reveal the Steed to 

prove that it is a Steed of the appropriate Level. 



His Nightfall ability will trigger if he becomes your Warlord in a Jautya Syne deck, but the +5 

bonus is gone before the first turn begins. 

 

Vauxgen: 

His Nightfall ability only grants its bonuses to characters in his current rank. 

 

Danielle 

 

Kalten the Bleak: 

The spell discarded for the cost of his Order adds to his skill for the Order's magic save. 

 

Dame Olivia: 

The spell removed from the game for the cost of her Order will reduce her bonus to the 

Order's ranged strike. 

 

Alynna the Fervent: 

The spell removed from the game for the cost of her Order will reduce her bonus to the 

Order's magic save. 

 

Sidor the Avenged 

 

 

Dwarf 

 

Aridun of the Stone: 

Errata 

React: Once per turn, after target Gargoyle you control is killed: Reveal the top 10 cards of 

your deck. You may put a revealed Gargoyle of equal or lower Level than the target into play 

ready in target's former location in any formation. Shuffle the remaining cards into your deck. 

 

Fix any illegal ranks before performing the React. 

You may use the React to 'replace' a Gargoyle that was in your opponent's formation. 

The chosen Gargoyle must be able to come into play legally (cannot create an illegal rank, 

possible cleric restrictions, etc), but does not count as being 'played from hand' (Athril 

Gargoyle). 

 

Danres: 

May use the Daybreak React to reduce wounds done to himself.  

Multiple copies of Danres may react to the same instance of wounding to reduce multiple 

wounds. 

 

Icesecret Gargoyle: 

The React counts as retrieval from the discard pile. 

 

Madnessfire Gargoyle: 

If the wound from his Daybreak React is reduced or negated, then the action is canceled. The 

wound may be removed at a later time without penalty. 

Opal Gargoyle may ready him even after he has gained additional melee strikes from his 

Nightfall React (they do not count as 'printed'). 

 



Spiteful: 

The additional wound from the Nightfall React affects Assassins that enter play later in the 

turn. 

 

Lambaste: 

It is not a +5 bonus for each wound, it is +5 for one or more wounds. 

The bonuses from multiple copies of Lambaste stack. 

 

Destruction: 

He is a Barbarian. 

He must meet Level and class requirements for equipping the Weapon. Shuffle your deck. 

 

Rouse: 

His Nightfall text causes him to enter play stunned - he does not enter play then become 

stunned. Similarly, he does not suffer the wound - he just has a wound when he enters play. 

His Nightfall text only requires you to have a character in the fourth rank when playing him 

from your hand. 

If he becomes your Warlord in a Jautya Syne deck, he enters play ready and unwounded in the 

third rank. 

 

Berlian the Stout: 

The Dwarf must meet Level and class requirements to equip the targeted item. 

The item can be moved while ready. 

 

Quest 

 

Temper: 

He may not create an illegal rank when he enters play with his Daybreak React, unless 

another effect allows otherwise. 

 

Faceless: 

His react will be triggered by either of the actions granted by the Stealth feat - he can be ready 

after he 'stealths' into an opposing army. 

 

Fleshstone Gargoyle 

 

Stockpile 

 

 

Elf 

 

Twisted Shade: 

Fix any illegal ranks before proceeding with the effects of the Order. 

 

Serolia Calix: 

Errata (Effective Nov 9th) 

Order: Once per turn, kill one of your Elves: Reveal the top five cards of your deck. You may 

put a revealed spell into your hand. 

 



If the character killed for the cost of her Order does not die (eg. Skyyrek), then the cost is not 

considered paid and the action is canceled. 

Her Order is draw and retrieval from the deck if you choose to put a revealed spell into your 

hand.  

It cannot be performed when you have no cards in the deck. (Zero Effect Rule) 

 

Valdania Calix: 

React will be triggered by falling forward only when some effect (eg. Griffon of Misear) 

negates the spending or stunning. 

 

Aellano Sessaran: 

Errata 

React: Once per turn, after killing an opposing character with a melee strike, remove it from 

the game: Perform a ranged strike with a bonus equal to the Level of the killed character. 

 

Pravian 

 

Flaming Spirit: 

A character with more than one of the named subclasses will count for multiple effects. 

Any character within one rank can count - including opposing ones. 

 

Zevil Adinerach: 

The bonus to another Elf may be given to the same Elf multiple times. 

 

Cheadlon: 

When performing 1st and 2nd level wizard actions he will be considered both a wizard and a 

rogue for only the effects of that action. For all other reacts and effects during the action, he is 

just a rogue. 

 

Nildrach: 

The Nightfall Order's melee strike uses the character's first strike as a base and is modified by 

items and/or any modifiers from other card effects. 

 

Edonal Rowan: 

Since the ranged strikes from the Daybreak Order stun instead of wound any effect that would 

increase the number of wounds does not affect it. 

 

Scetis 

 

Idrol: 

If the card discarded for the cost of his Order is a character, it will increase the penalty the 

target suffers if you choose your own discard pile. 

 

Terbero: 

Errata (Effective Nov 9th) 

React: Once per turn, after one of your Elves dies, discard 1 card: Put a Level 1 Elf from your 

discard pile into play. 

 

The React may return to play the character that died or the card that was discarded (if it was a 

character) and counts as retrieval from the discard pile. 



The discarded card comes from your hand (not your deck). 

 

Spectre of Madness 

 

 

Free Kingdoms 

 

Shadan Alder: 

Errata (Effective Nov 9th) 

His static text now reads "Shadan Alder may not start in play." 

 

The bonuses from his Nightfall effect are not dependent upon entering play after the first turn.  

The Spend Order will return him to his owner's hand regardless of control. 

 

Yscarite Sentry: 

The bonuses from multiple copies of the Daybreak effect stack. 

Your characters gain the Lycanthrope bold trait from the Nightfall effect. 

 

Gladys Tynron: 

Both Reacts may target any character in play. 

 

Sadina Gleson 

 

Hex Starsmore 

 

Robert Mason 

 

Kara Wadreth 

 

Arve Yscar: 

He keeps the feat he gives himself past the end of the turn. 

If a character uses a feat, loses the trait, then regains it (eg. moving out of then back into 

Arve's rank) - it is still considered used and cannot be used again. 

 

Naro Yscar 

 

Haden Rhys: 

The bonuses will affect characters that enter the rank later in the turn. 

The bonuses will continue affecting the rank until the end of turn, even if Haden is killed or 

moves to another rank. 

 

Vermin Swarm 

 

Beastmaster Eladric: 

The React is used after the wound has been suffered (i.e. after any 'healing' effect) but before 

it is determined whether the character has been killed. 

 

Feral Yscarite: 

His Nightfall effect grants an additional strike and the ATK bonus for each Charge. 

 



Loren: 

The ranged strike from the Daybreak React can target a character within two ranks. 

 

 

Mercenary 

 

Kevrosh Dathar: 

The ATK bonus from the Nightfall effect comes from the Dungeon's printed CR only. 

Bonuses from other effects, such as Malrog's Lair's text, do not count. 

 

Nadlon Dathar 

 

Bran Segula: 

Errata 

Bran has the Mercenary trait. 

 

The Daybreak Order may not be used while in the front rank, since it requires forward 

movement. (Illegal Effect Rule) 

The Dragon retrieved from the deck for the Nightfall Order may not enter play into an illegal 

rank, unless an effect would allow otherwise. 

 

Lightspawn 

 

Shadowlurkers 

 

Lessari 

 

Belinda 

 

 

Nothrog 

 

Turgan: 

The Charge he gains from the Nightfall Order will be included when the action calculates the 

bonus. 

 

Nemtok: 

If a character uses the Powerattack feat, loses the trait, then regains it (eg. moving out of then 

back into Nemtok's rank) - it is still considered used and cannot be used again. 

 

Ker’zath: 

The wound is suffered after the strike has completely resolved. 

The melee strike uses the character's first strike as a base and is modified by items and/or any 

modifiers from other card effects 

 

Carg’rag 

 

Krasin: 

The wound is suffered after the attack has completely resolved. It may be inflicted upon 

Krasin. 



 

Egrart 

 

Ar’bruz: 

Fix any illegal ranks caused by the cost of the first Order before performing the strike. 

 

Skrim Spindlespleen: 

The Nightfall Order counts as retrieval.  

You must have at least one card in your deck in order to perform the Order, but do not have to 

have ten. 

 

FirRal: 

When performing his Daybreak React, he moves all three ranks at once. He does not move 

forward three separate times. 

There does not need to be another legal target in order to use his Nightfall React. 

 

Baxod Firedancer: 

When performing wizard actions, he will be considered both a wizard and a rogue for only the 

effects of that action. For all other reacts and effects during the action, he is just a rogue. 

He may use his React even if the spell is canceled. 

 

Dorril 

 

Ar’tol: 

The React cannot be used to put characters into play in an illegal rank, unless an effect would 

allow otherwise. 

Both characters enter play (one at a time, triggering reacts to a character entering play as 

appropriate) before either is moved forward. 

Correct any illegal ranks caused by the first character's movement before moving the second 

character. 

May be performed if you have one or no Nothrog in your hand. 

 

Ga’dok: 

An action that kills multiple characters (eg. Magic Missiles) will only trigger the React once, 

after the action has completely resolved.  

 

DerRist 

 

 

Actions : 
 

Cleric 

 

Embrace Death: 

You may discard 0 Cards. 

The wounds are not removed until after all saves are performed. 

 

Luminous Cure: 

The spend order creates a Summoned character. 

 



Sustaining Aura: 

Errata 

Spend Order: Target a non-stunned lower-Level character: Ready the target. If this character is 

a Cantor, the target has +5 ATK, AC and Skill until end of turn. If this character is a Druid, 

you may move the target forward or backward one rank. If this character is a Seer, the target’s 

next die roll this turn is a Critical Success. 

 

Armor of Devotion 

 

Entangle: 

Druids may perform this action while spent. 

Any item that affects the targeted character has its bonuses turned into penalties, regardless of 

who has it equipped. 

Affected items are changed for all characters that might normally benefit from it, not just the 

targeted character. 

 

 

Fighter 

 

Thrust: 

You may discard 0 cards. 

This melee strike is modified by items and/or any modifiers from other card effects. The only 

thing that doesn't modify it is the character's own ATK bonus, as this is replaced by the +0 

Base ATK bonus on the card. 

 

Inner Light: 

The spend order creates a Summoned character. 

 

Ways of War: 

The fighter must have a subclass to perform this action. (Zero Effect Rule) 

 

Refuse to Yield: 

The fighter must be a legal target for the action, and not already targeted by it. 

 

Close Combat: 

The Paladin's bonus will follow the Paladin as he moves to other ranks, and affects himself 

and affects any characters that enter the rank later in the turn. 

The Barbarian's melee strike is modified by items and/or any modifiers from other card 

effects. The only thing that doesn't modify it is the character's own ATK bonus, as this is 

replaced by the +4 Base ATK bonus on the card. 

May be performed by a fighter in the front rank as long as one of the other three effects take 

place 

 

 

Rogue 

 

Neutralize: 

You may discard 0 cards. 

 

Fascinate 



 

Subvert: 

Scouts may perform this action while spent. 

Return the remaining cards in their original order - do not shuffle. 

If the performing player uses this action on his own deck, it counts as retrieval from the deck. 

 

Brilliant Bound: 

The spend order creates a Summoned character. 

 

Wheels within Wheels: 

Scouts may use Marksmanship before choosing the new target of the strike. 

The rogue must have a subclass to perform this action. (Zero Effect Rule) 

 

 

Wizard 

 

Evoke Crisis: 

Errata (Effective Nov 9th) 

Order: Discard any number of cards, up to this character’s Level: Perform a +2 ranged strike. 

Then perform a +0 ranged strike for each card discarded. 

 

You may discard 0 Cards. 

A character that is +1 level for playing spells/actions are treated as one level higer for the 

number of cards they may discard. 

 

Dazzling Aptitude: 

The spend order creates a Summoned character. 

 

Curse of Broken Spire: 

When cast by a Summoner, the search for the character uses the caster's Level and counts as 

draw and retrieval from the deck. 

When cast by an Illusionist-Summoner, each of the targeted characters that fails the save 

allows you to search for a character. 

 

Rattle the Bones: 

Necromancers may perform this action while spent. 

Does not count as retrieval from the discard pile. 

 

 

Dungeons : 
 

Isle of Madness 

Players resolve the Nightfall effect in the order of the previous turn's Initiative. 

If a player controls an Opal Gargoyle, they may choose whether to resolve the Dungeon's or 

the Gargoyle's 'after draw step' effect first. 

 

Isle of Sorrow 

Each player must reveal the character that they drew (per the rulebook on search effects). 

The Daybreak effect is both draw and retrieval from the deck, but it is not an action. 

 



The Bastion of Bascaron 

 

Isle of Wind 

 

Isle of Secrets 

If a player only has one card in hand when the Daybreak effect is triggered, they discard that 

card. 

If a player only has one card remaining in their deck when the Nightfall effect is triggered, 

they draw that card. 

 

Isle of Ice 

 

Isle of Fire 

 

 

Items : 
 

Classless 

 

Zenith: 

The character must meet the class and Level requirements for equipping the retrieved Item. 

The order is retrieval from the deck. 

 

Halcyon: 

Errata (Effective Nov 9th) 

React: Once per turn, after you roll Initiative, stun a ready character in your army: Stun a non-

Warlord character of equal or lower Level than your character. 

 

The character must meet the class and Level requirements for equipping the retrieved Item. 

The order is retrieval from the deck. 

 

Nadir: 

The character must meet the class and Level requirements for equipping the retrieved Item. 

The order is retrieval from the deck. 

 

Clarion: 

Focus cannot react to allow a readied Dwarf to attack, as the readying is during the Initiative 

phase. 

The character must meet the class and Level requirements for equipping the retrieved Item. 

The order is retrieval from the deck. 

 

 

Cleric 

 

Symbol of Unity: 

Affects characters that either gain the trait or enter play with the trait later in the turn.  

Subclasses are as follows: Cantor, Druid, Seer, Barbarian, Paladin, Ranger, Assassin, Bard, 

Scout, Illusionist, Necromancer, Summoner, Mentalist, Monk, Shaman 

 

Ruby Staff of Selection: 



Reversal: Olivark faction trait ruling. 

The targeted character gains the bold trait for the subclass as well. 

Subclasses are as follows: Cantor, Druid, Seer, Barbarian, Paladin, Ranger, Assassin, Bard, 

Scout, Illusionist, Necromancer, Summoner, Mentalist, Monk, Shaman 

 

The Cohorts’ Ark: 

Errata (Effective Nov 9th) 

The Ark has the Unique trait. 

 

The first order is retrieval and draw from the deck. 

The Second order allows each action on each Faith set Item, even ones equipped later in the 

turn, to be used an additional time this turn. 

 

 

Fighter 

 

Gossamer Mantle: 

The acting player may choose not to discard a character. 

If there is more than one character, the acting player gets to choose which is discarded. 

 

Calamity’s Steel: 

The Atk Bonus checked for the order is the character's first printed strike plus all bonuses and 

penalties from items and other effects. 

 

Aithon: 

The acting character may move himself. 

All movement occurs one character at a time, fixing illegal ranks as necessary. 

Subclasses are as follows: Cantor, Druid, Seer, Barbarian, Paladin, Ranger, Assassin, Bard, 

Scout, Illusionist, Necromancer, Summoner, Mentalist, Monk, Shaman 

 

 

Rogue 

 

Mercy’s Edge: 

Since the melee strike stuns instead of wounds, card effects that do additional wounds will 

have no effect on this strike. 

 

Balios 

 

Phantasmal Panther: 

While performing the melee strike, it counts as a Summoned character (not an item) and is 

considered to occupy the same space as the acting character (for purposes of adjacency). 

 

 

Wizard 

 

Frozen Servant: 

The Daybreak bonus is granted to all Illusionists, not just yours. 

 

Nostrum’s Whisper: 



The first react is only triggered by actions that this character performs that put a character into 

play. It is not triggered by the player using the standard order under Raising Troops in the 

Rule book, nor by similar actions from other characters. 

Summoned characters are characters that are not character cards. A brief list of examples 

follows, but it does not include all cards that are or create Summoned characters. 

 

Call the Abyss  

Figurine of Power, Protection, Trickery and Wonder (after the order is used) 

Living History (after the react is used) 

Phantasmal Panther (while performing the melee strike) 

Summon Lesser Fiend 

Summon Planar 

Thrice-Fell Horrors 

Ursus (while performing the melee strike) 

 

Crown of the Isles: 

Necromancers can perform the react any number of times per turn. 

The order counts as retrieval from the discard pile. 

 

Clandestine Crest: 

Errata 

This character may not equip Armor. 

 

The react's effect is to prevent the roll from receiving Any bonuses. That is, it does not merely 

reduce the current bonus to zero. 

 


